(1968); Nauru (Special Member); Nigeria (1960); Sierra Leone (1961); Singapore (1965) — Singapore separated from Malaysia in 1965; Sri Lanka (Ceylon) (1948); Swaziland (1968); Tanzania (1964) — in 1964 Tanganyika and Zanzibar joined to form the United Republic of Tanzania; Tonga (1970); Trinidad and Tobago (1962); Uganda (1962); Western Samoa (1970); Zambia (1964). Papua New Guinea will also become a member of the Commonwealth after it attains independence. Nauru, which became fully independent in 1968, has special membership in the Commonwealth which entitles it to all the advantages of membership except attendance at Heads of Government meetings. Through their association with Britain, which has retained responsibility for foreign affairs and defence, the five Eastern Caribbean Associated States of Antigua, Dominica, St. Kitts—Nevis—Anguilla, St. Lucia and St. Vincent are also involved in the Commonwealth.

Membership in the Commonwealth is an important aspect of Canadian foreign policy. Canada has consistently supported its expansion and development as a vigorous and effective association working for international peace and progress. Canadian objectives have remained constant: to strengthen the association, to encourage more active participation in it by members, and to assist the development of the association as a vehicle for practical co-operation. The organization has no binding rules, and decisions are reached through consensus rather than formal vote.

The Commonwealth Secretariat was established in 1965 by Heads of Government and is located in Marlborough House in London. It organizes and services official Commonwealth conferences, facilitates the exchange of information between member countries and collates their views. Canada's assessment to the 1973-74 budget of the Secretariat was 19.19% of the total, or approximately \$470,000. In 1973 Canada contributed approximately \$4.75 million to various Commonwealth institutions and programs.

The most important duty of the Secretariat is the organization of Commonwealth Heads of Government Meetings. The last Meeting was held in Ottawa in August 1973; the next will be held in Jamaica in April 1975, and will be hosted collectively by the Commonwealth Caribbean countries. Major Commonwealth conferences held in 1973-74 included the Commonwealth Finance Ministers Meeting in Dar-es-Salaam in September 1973, the biennial Meeting of Commonwealth Senior Officials in London in May 1974, the Sixth Commonwealth Education Conference in Kingston, Jamaica, in June 1974 and the annual meeting of Commonwealth Finance Ministers, in Ottawa in September 1974.

## 3.6.2.2 Canada and the French-speaking community

The federal government is anxious to demonstrate the different aspects of Canadian society, especially Canadian bilingualism, internationally, and fosters the broadening and strengthening of ties with francophone countries. In the last few years traditional relations with the French-speaking countries of Europe have been considerably expanded and diversified, particularly in the scientific and technological fields. These relations have been complemented by the establishment of ties with the French-speaking countries of the Third World. In addition to development aid, which remains the principal contact, there has been a gradual growth of cultural and economic exchange.

Canada also plays an important role within multilateral organizations such as the Agency for Cultural and Technical Co-operation, of which it is a founding member. The First International Francophone Youth Festival, sponsored by the Agency in conjunction with the Quebec government, was held in Quebec City in August 1974. Canada is also a member of the Conference of Ministers of Education and the Conference of Youth and Sports Ministers of francophone countries; their annual meeting was held in 1974 in Montebello, Que.

The federal government is not alone in its efforts to draw francophone countries and Canada closer. On the bilateral level, the provinces are invited to take part in the work of joint commissions and in the implementation of Canadian government aid programs. On the multilateral level, New Brunswick, Ontario and Manitoba participate in some of the Agency's activities and the federal government and the Quebec government have agreed on an arrangement under which the latter has a more distinct status within the Agency's institutions, activities and programs.

There are also various private French-language associations that work to develop relations between their members around the world. The establishment of the Agency has stimulated their activities and has led to the creation of a number of new organizations. The Canadian